Home » Developer & Programmer » JDeveloper, Java & XML » No shared memory realm, but works w/SQLPlus
No shared memory realm, but works w/SQLPlus [message #90876] Sun, 04 November 2001 07:07 Go to next message
Barbara
I have no problem connecting to my remote database at school w/SQLPlus...but when I try to run my test java program (w/jdk 1.3.1) it's telling me oracle is not available, shared memory realm does not exist. I honestly have no idea how to reconfigure this...can someone point me in the right direction? Absolute Oracle newbie here. Thanks.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: No shared memory realm, but works w/SQLPlus [message #90955 is a reply to message #90876] Tue, 08 January 2002 05:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jean-Louis Sénégas
I have the same problem, a JDK 1.3 program works fine with Ora 8.1.6 and prior versions.
But the same problem (ORA01034 and ORA27101) occurs when trying to connect to Ora 8.1.7 (SQL Plus is working too with this database).

Specifications :
Oracle JDBC Thin Driver 8.1.7
Oracle 8.1.7 on NT 4 SP6
JDK 1.3

As it's working with SQL*Plus is it a good idea to increase shared memory size?

plz hlp!
Re: No shared memory realm, but works w/SQLPlus [message #90959 is a reply to message #90955] Thu, 10 January 2002 21:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Harper
As a first step, check that all Oracle SIDs in your configuration files are case correct (i.e. the SID has the same case everywhere)

Also, check out this MetaLink document:

Doc ID:
Note:122183.1
Subject: ORA-27101 "Shared Memory Realm Does Not Exist" Connecting Via Net8
Type: PROBLEM
Content Type: TEXT/PLAIN
Creation Date: 17-OCT-2000
Last Revision Date: 29-DEC-2000
Language: USAENG
This article is being delivered in Draft form and may contain errors. Please use the MetaLink "Feedback" button to advise Oracle of any issues related to this article.

Problem Description
-------------------