Home » Other » Training & Certification » Oracle MySQL exam 1Z0-883 (Latest version. Linux & Windows I suppose.)
Oracle MySQL exam 1Z0-883 [message #644314] Tue, 03 November 2015 04:04 Go to next message
ahudspith71
Hi All,

Iv just got back from 2 weeks vacation... and BOOM!... find out that the company I work for have booked me in for this exam next week and "it should be easy to pass it".

https://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=653&get_params=p_id:260

Um...

So Im wondering if anyone can point me to any crash course notes online. Preferably free as Im not even sure if I can raise a PO in the short time available.

PS - I dont want brain dumps or anything else that may infringe on the rules. Just recommended study guides.

Think Im in for a few busy evenings.

About me. Im an Oracle DBA of about 20 years. OCP. I can "deal with" SQLServer if I need to. I have almost no MySQL to draw up upon.

Thanks to all in advance that reply.

Adam
Re: Oracle MySQL exam 1Z0-883 [message #644334 is a reply to message #644314] Tue, 03 November 2015 08:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
matthewmorris68

Unfortunately, you are not going to find anything legitimate on this exam (yet). There was a book that Steve O'Hearn was planning to write... but ultimately decided not to. Todd Farmer (http://mysqlblog.fivefarmers.com/2013/10/15/exam-cram-preparing-for-the-mysql-5-6-certification-exams/) was planning to write a series of blog posts about preparing for the exam... but not much has been done on that in the two years since he announced his intention. This test (and 1Z0-882) is on my list of study guides to write, but I'm an Oracle dude rather than a MySQL one... so I have pushed both MySQL exams to the back of the queue.

At this point, my suggestion would be to download the documentation to an e-reader, look over the exam topics from the Oracle Certification site and plan on doing a lot of reading for the next couple of weeks.