Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Startup Oracle 8i on Solaris 8
Startup Oracle 8i on Solaris 8 [message #369151] Thu, 30 March 2000 01:32 Go to next message
umesh
I have installed Oracle 8i on solaris, in
/export/home/OraHome1 directory. I have also created a user called oracle. What do I have to do next to start the oracle instance ??? as there are no icons, like in the windows and NT environments. I am also new to the UNIX environment so a simplified version of the answer is appreciated.

tips, references, what to do's, links greatly appreciated
Thnkx
Umesh
Re: Startup Oracle 8i on Solaris 8 [message #369155 is a reply to message #369151] Thu, 30 March 2000 09:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Chris Ruel
If you installed the Oracle Software with your Oracle user, I presume your Unix environment variables are set up correctly. For now, I will also assume everything was installed correctly. Did you create a database with the install? If you did, you need to make sure your ORACLE_SID is set to your database name and exported. As a UNIX envrironment variable. Then you can connect to server manager. From your unix prompt, just type:

$ svrmgrl

This will start up the server manager shell. Now type:

SVRMGR> connect internal;

It should say something like:

Connected to an idle instance.

From here just type:

SVRMGR> startup

This should start and open your database as long as no problems are encountered.

Chris..
Re: Startup Oracle 8i on Solaris 8 [message #369158 is a reply to message #369151] Thu, 30 March 2000 12:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
umesh
Hi Chris,
Thanks for the help,
I got as far as 'connect internal'.
When I type 'startup' I get the following error msg,
"ORA-27102:out of memory"
"Intel SVR4 Unix Error:22:Invalid Argument"
I have got 128 mbyte memory and my swap file size is
384 mbyte on a Pentium III. Solaris is the only other app running
Please help, again

Thanks
Umesh